“We’re waiting for God to show up.'”

I find this song comforting when I’m upset, and tonight I need comfort.
Screen Shot 2017-08-12 at 9.29.03 PM
 
I have no words to express how disgusting today’s events were. That it is 2017 and we are still dealing with this shit. That angry, white people will do anything to defend an immoral institution and continue to violently suppress marginalized groups.
 
Today’s events were an act of terrorism — and, I am terrified. I feel helpless and don’t know how to respond to such unfettered hate.
 
We can condemn these actions and say, “This is unacceptable!” But, we live in America, where since its founding, this behaviour has been not only accepted but, for many years, encouraged and sanctioned by the government. This land was forcibly taken from Native Peoples, it was built by slave labor and on the backs of minorities, and it is clear, that force will be used to retain that power.
I have no answers. I have no leads. This country is broken. What does salvation look like? Is there a way to fix this or will the white nationalist win with their, “if we can’t have it, no one can,” rallies?
Leave a Reply

