Happy Anniversary, Zach Zach Stevens!

Zach and Whitney-Zach and Whitney-0078.jpg

Last year, I married my best friend.

We met in November of 2011.  It didn’t seem like we had a lot in common at first, he was very anti-vegan and I was very, very vegan, but our friendship steadily grew through a shared love of Katy Perry and bi-annual library sales.

Though I moved around for a little while through 2012 – 2014, we kept in touch. When I came back to Utah, Zach and I met up for dinner at The Pie Pizzeria in Ogden. We were there for almost four hours; I left the restaurant that night thinking, “I’m in love.”

A few months later we started dating and I never looked back. After one year of dating, we moved in together March of 2015 and on a trip to Yellowstone over Labor Day Weekend, Zach proposed. We were camping and I hadn’t showered in three days, so I knew that he really meant it. 😉

Our wedding, on July 2, 2016 was perfect. We rented the Tracy Aviary and had boxes and boxes of pizza from The Pie. Surrounded by all of our favorite people, we recited our handwritten vows and only cried a little*. My friend Kent performed the ceremony and did a wonderful job.

Near the end of the night, Zach requested Shook Me All Night Long by AC/DC and drunkenly came out to the dance floor to boogie, slapping his legs along with, “Knockin’ me out with those American thighs.” After the wedding, we had a fabulous honeymoon in Canada and Montana. Then in August, it was off to Washington to begin our new life together in Seattle.

There have been a lot of ups and downs throughout the year as we adjusted to a new place, Zach dove into the full-time MBA program and I started a new job at the University of Washington. Despite the challenges, at the end of every day I have a snuggly, handsome and hilarious husband to come home to. The tough times feel less tough when you have someone like Zach to go through them with, and I know that it brought us closer together.

So — even though things are not perfect, I know that I did everything right. One year in, here is to many, many more.

*It’s all relative.

Leave a Reply

