Rainy Days & About Time

I’ve been wanting to post this for a long time. But, every time I went to write about it, I got distracted and never came back. Who knows, maybe I’ll write this sentence and then forget about this post for another few months …


Seattle has a lot of rainy days. Most of the rainy days, I try to push myself to get out and carry on just like I would any other day. After all, if I let the rain stop me, I would never get anything done.

On the days where I do let myself stay in, I like to curl up with a good book or watch a movie. For the last three years my go-to movie has been About Time. I first saw it when I was going through a hard time in life, and I swear — as soon as I watched it, the answers were clear. Since that first viewing, I’ve watched it a number of times and hounded every one around me to watch it too. It is that amazing.

I had a co-worker sum it up perfectly about a year ago, “Every once in awhile, a movie can change your life, About Time is that movie.” And, for me that was true and I think it could be for a lot of people.

The movie is about a family and manages to have a time travel element without it being overpowering or sci-fi in any way. Not that I mind sci-fi, but this movie is about love. All love. Family love, long lasting love and building a life. It has Rachel McAdams and Domhnall Gleeson; both put on stunning performances.

If you are looking for something to do on a rainy day or a lazy evening at home when you don’t feel like going out, then watch this movie. Just keep some tissues near by 😉

91omvpuqrol-_sl1500_

Leave a Reply

