Yellowstone May 2016!

A couple weeks ago we went to Yellowstone. Zach pointed out that I hadn’t written anything about our trip, “You haven’t said anything about Yellowstone. You always write about Yellowstone.”

That much is true. We’ve gone to Yellowstone the last three Mays and once in September. Up to this point, I’ve written about it every time.

The first time we went to Yellowstone together, we hadn’t been dating long. Maybe a couple months? It didn’t feel weird to be taking a trip together though, since we’d already know each other pretty well for a couple years. I’d been wanting to go to Yellowstone for a long time, so when we started dating it just seemed natural to start having adventures together right away.

That first trip to Yellowstone was one of the best of my life. I’m sure part of it was twitterpation, but it was more than that. Yellowstone was the most beautiful place I’d ever been and I saw more wildlife in a short time than in my whole life, which seemed significant since I grew up in a very active, ourdoorsy family.

Since that first trip, we’ve had many more great experiences there and even learned a few lessons. For example, our first trip, we packed Zach’s Ford Escape to the brim with food and blankets. We ate like kings and had more food than we knew what to do with. These days, we can consolidate all our food to one small box and still have more than enough.

This May, my parents decided to accompany us. They had heard us rave for the last couple of years about how gorgeous Yellowstone is in the spring. And, it’s true. That is my advice to everyone. Go as early in the spring as you can. There will be less crowds and more wildlife to see — namely, babies.

The second morning of our trip, we were all driving around together. I saw a few cars stopped ahead. My dad wondered aloud what it could be, I answered him that since a ranger was stopped as well it must be a bear. No sooner had I finished my sentence than my mom screamed, “BABIES!!!!” And opened her car door before Zach could even stop the car.

Low and behold, there were two yearlings and a mama bear grazing on the hill just across the street from us! It was a wonderful first bear sighting of the year, and the first time my parents had seen bears so close (we had seen one a couple years ago, from a few hundred yards).

We drove around for a little while longer before seeing the real highlight of the trip … A grizzly bear eating a bison carcass. Close enough that we could see it without using binoculars or zoom lenses.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All in all, it was a great trip and great to share it with my family. Especially since Zach and I consider ourselves to be legitimate experts of the park now 😀

Leave a Reply

